You are here
Home > World News >

12 speakers vie to win Irish Times Debate final

Speakers from TCD, UCC, Maynooth University, the Solicitors’ Apprentice Debating Society of Ireland (Sadsi) and King’s Inn are among the many opponents within the 61st Irish Times Debate Final this night.

The occasion, which is Ireland’s longest-running third-level debating competitors, will happen at an out of doors black-tie occasion within the gardens of the Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI), St Stephens’s Green.

More than 240 debaters from 120 groups had entered the competitors.

The competitors is being live-streamed on (Click on the hyperlink or paste it into your browser to look at the controversy.)

The movement for the controversy is: “This house believes privacy is dead”.

Finalists will compete for the Demosthenes and Christina Murphy Memorial trophies. The ultimate options 12 speeches with every finalist talking for seven minutes.

The Irish Times Debate Final convenor, Kevin Brennan, speaks because the occasion begins on Saturday night within the gardens of the Museum of Literature Ireland, St Stephens’s Green, Dublin. Screengrab: Youtube

Speakers are being assessed throughout a spread of competencies together with reasoning, examples and rebuttals and the way effectively constructed their arguments are.

The debate is chaired by Liam Herrick, government director, Irish Council for Civil Liberties.

The finalists are Tony O’Halloran (UCC Law Soc), Matt Mallen (UCC Law Soc), Kate Maher (TCD Phil), Megan O’Driscoll (TCD Phil), Rí Anumudu (Maynooth University), Chikemka Abuchi-Ogbonda (Maynooth University), Caoimhin Hamill (TCD Hist), Jack Synnott(TCD Hist), Daire McMullin (Sadsi), Ellen McHugh (TCD TCD Hist), Fionnán Long (King’s Inn), and Gabrielle Fullam (TCD Hist).

Judges are Paul O’Neill, Editor of The Irish Times (presiding); Dr David Kenny, affiliate regulation professor at Trinity College Dublin and crew winner in 2008; Clíodhna Ní Chéileachair, particular person winner, 2016; Dara Keenan, crew winner in 2017, and Aishling Kinsella, particular person runner-up in 2019.

Previous winners of the controversy, which was first held in 1960, embody the late broadcaster Marian Finucane, comic Dara Ó Briain, author Gerry Stembridge and the late Adrian Hardiman.

President Michael D Higgins and former president Mary Robinson had been finalists.

Leave a Reply