You are here
Home > Sports >

Ireland Kick Off FIBA Euros For Small Countries With Win

Basketball Ireland
Ireland 104-33 Andorra

Ireland Women kicked-off their FIBA European Championship For Small Countries marketing campaign in Nicosia, Cyprus with a 71-point victory over Andorra.

The recreation marks their first match since 2019 after they had been pressured right into a Covid-induced break, and likewise their first win.

Ireland began as they meant to go on with the offensive energy of the aspect proving to be an excessive amount of for the Andorran defence early on.

Dayna Finn, who was on her debut, led the aspect in scoring on the evening with 14 factors and was an essential determine at the beginning of the sport.

Finn helped her aspect acquire a commanding 17-0 lead and James Weldon’s aspect marched on from there, by no means letting go of the benefit that they had.

Edel Thornton was the thorn within the Andorrans’ sides as she racked up three steals within the first quarter alone.

Ireland upped their recreation within the second quarter, posting 32 factors – their largest haul in any quarter.

The aspect’s defensive rebounds had been instrumental of their attacking show as their counter-attacks proved deadly towards the Andorran defence.

The Andorrans suffered an error-filled show courtesy of the laborious work and tenacity of the likes of Thornton and Rachel Huijsdens.

Hower, Noah Mico Lorenzo and Cristina Andres Rabasa confirmed up for his or her nation and put up double-digit factors.

Through this stable defence, the Irish continued to have unanswered high-scoring runs.

The aspect completed the sport with 36 defensive rebounds and 27 offensive rebounds, together with the one which led to the lay-up Grainne O’Dwyer pounced on to interrupt the 100-point barrier.

Weldon and co. will probably be impressed with their exhibiting within the opener in Nicosia and can now look in the direction of a recreation towards Malta on Thursday afternoon.

Ireland: Michelle Clarke (9), Aine McKenna (10), Dayna Finn (14), Claire Rockall (7), Rachel Huijsdens (9), Grainne Dwyer (11), Edel Thornton (4), Fiona O’Dwyer (10), Claire Melia (9), Hannah Thornton (5), Sorcha Tiernan (12), Aine O’Connor (4).

Andorra: Cristina Andres Rabasa (10), Noah Mico Lorenzo (13), Laura Laurent Marrugat, Mariona Palou Vidal, Carla Solana Perez (2), Claudia Brunet Solano (6), Julia Marquez Tomas (2), Anna Mana Buscall, Patricia Meira Gallego, Mireia Magrinya Alonso, Cloe Torcuato Rodriguez (DNP).

To see the just lately introduced Men’s squad, click on here.

LiveScores Now Available at

Leave a Reply